Current Executive Committee

Members of the Executive Committee must be current Masters of the Society. 

President: Gregory A. Poland, MD, MACP, FIDSA, DHL(hon)

Greg PolandGregory A. Poland, M.D., is the director of Mayo Clinic’s Vaccine Research Group — a state-of-the-art research group and laboratory that seeks to understand the genetic drivers of viral vaccine response and investigates issues surrounding novel vaccines important to public health. Dr. Poland holds the academic rank of professor of medicine and infectious diseases and molecular pharmacology and experimental therapeutics. He is the director of the Immunization Clinic and director of the Program in Translational Immunovirology and Biodefense at Mayo Clinic. He also serves as the president of the Edward Jenner Vaccine Society and is the Editor-in-Chief for the journal “Vaccine.” In 2013, Dr. Poland was named a “Distinguished Mayo Investigator”, by the Mayo Board of Trustees. Dr. Poland is also the 2012 recipient of the Mayo Clinic Department of Medicine Lifetime Research Achievement Award. In 2012, Dr. Poland was named number 25th on Terrapinn’s list of the top 50 vaccine influencers in the world. In February 2013, he was nominated for membership in the Institute of Medicine (IOM). In addition, he recently received an NIH MERIT Award, an honor accorded to less than 5% of the nation’s NIH-funded investigators. Dr. Poland was awarded the Secretary of Defense Award for Excellence in December 2008. In 2008, he was named a Master of the American College of Physicians. Dr. Poland received the Hsu prize in International Infectious Disease Epidemiology in 2007, and the Charles Merieux Lifetime Achievement Award in Vaccinology from the National Foundation for Infectious Diseases in May 2006. He was appointed as the Mary Lowell Leary Professor in Medicine (the highest academic distinction for a faculty member) by Mayo Clinic’s Board of Trustees in 2004. In May 2003, he was awarded the Secretary of Defense Medal for Outstanding Public Service. Since 2004, Dr. Poland has served on the Infectious Diseases Society of America (IDSA) Taskforce on Pandemic Influenza, and chaired the American College of Physician’s Adult Immunization Advisory Board. Dr. Poland participates on many national and academic review committees has published over 440 peer-reviewed scientific articles and book chapters.

Gregory A. Poland, MD, MACP
Editor-in-Chief, VACCINE
Mary Lowell Leary Endowed Professor of Medicine,  Infectious Diseases, Molecular Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics;
Director, Mayo Vaccine Research Group
Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minnesota, USA



USA Councilor: Gregory C. Gray, MD, MPH, FIDSA

Gregory GrayGregory C. Gray is a Professor in the Division of Infectious Diseases at Duke University’s School of Medicine and also a Professor in the Program in Emerging Infectious Diseases at Duke-NUS Graduate Medical School, Singapore. His medical boards are in Preventive Medicine and Public Health. Dr. Gray has conducted diverse epidemiological studies of infectious diseases for 25 years in 5 continents. Much of his work has involved identifying risk factors for occupational disease, particularly for infectious diseases, but also for chronic diseases. He has studied numerous occupational groups including farmers, animal breeders, veterinarians, swine showers, military personnel, turkey workers, poultry workers, horse workers, and pig workers. He has joined with international collaborators is studying persons with occupational exposure to camels, cattle, ducks, dogs, geese, goats, marine mammals, pigs, and poultry in a number of countries including Bangladesh, Cambodia, China, Kenya, Madagascar, Mongolia, Romania, Thailand, and the United States. He has served on numerous national expert advisory committees including those associated with the US Armed Forces Epidemiological Board, the Infectious Disease Society of America, and the Institute of Medicine. Currently, he serves on the Editorial Board for the journal Influenza and Other Respiratory Viruses and is a member of the National Marine Mammal Foundation Scientific Advisory Board. He has trained more than 150 international professionals in various graduate Certificate programs and has advised more than 51 Masters, PhD, and postdoctoral students in training and research.

New affiliations as of August 1, 2014
Gregory C. Gray, MD, MPH, FIDSA
Duke University School of Medicine

Duke Infectious Diseases & Duke Global Health Institute
Hanes House
315 Trent Dr.
Durham, NC  27710
ID Divn phone 919-684-6854

Professor, Program in Emerging Infectious Diseases
Duke-NUS Graduate Medical School Singapore
8 College Road
Singapore 169857
School phone 6515-7666   Email:



EUROPEAN Councilor: Prof. Bernard A. M. Van der Zeijst, Ph.D.

Ben Zeijst

Bernard A.M. van der Zeijst (1944) studied Biology at the University of Utrecht, the Netherlands where he graduated in 1968. For his PhD studies he investigated the function of ribosomes at the University of Utrecht. In 1972, he defended his thesis entitled: ‘Protein biosynthesis in yeast; the functioning of 80 S ribosomes in vitro.’ From 1972 to 1985 he worked in the field of Virology at the University of Utrecht and at Washington University in St. Louis, USA. From 1985 to 1998 he was Professor of Bacteriology at the University of Utrecht and a visiting scientist at the Monash University in Melbourne, Australia in 1994. From 1997 to 1998 he was Head of Vaccine Production at the National Institute of Public Health and Environment (RIVM) in Bilthoven, the Netherlands, and in 1998 he became director of the Vaccine Division of the RIVM. In 2003, he founded the Netherlands Vaccine Institute and was Scientific Director from 2004 to 2009. In 2007, he became Professor ‘Vaccines and Vaccination’ at the University of Leiden (Leiden University Medical Center), the Netherlands.

Van der Zeijst is author of over 210 scientific publications and supervised ~50 PhD theses. In 1983, he was awarded the Beijerinck Virology Medal by the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW) in the Netherlands. He is a member of several international microbiology and vaccine societies, member of the ZonMW program committees Antimicrobial Resistance and Good Manufacturing Practices for Drugs, and chairman of the Division of Vaccinology of the Royal Dutch Society for Microbiology. In 2012 he became the Coordinator of the European FP7 project VacTrain.

 LinkedIn Ben van der Zeijst
 Electronically available publications of Ben van der Zeijst

Prof. Bernard A.  M. Van der Zeijst, Ph.D.
Leiden University Medical Center,
Albinusdreef 2,
2333 ZA Leiden, The Netherlands



AUSTRALIAN Councilor: Dr. David Durrheim, Ph.D., MPH & TM, MBChB, FACTM, FAFPHM


Dr. David Durrheim is Professor of Public Health Medicine at the University of Newcastle in Australia. He is a member of a number of SAGE (Strategic Advisory Group of Experts to the World Health Organisation) working groups and chairs the Measles Verification Commission for the Western Pacific Region. He is also Director of Health Protection of Hunter New England Area Health Service in Australia.Professor Durrheim’s focus is on novel infectious disease surveillance methods, control of vaccine preventable diseases and strategies for reducing inequity in public health service delivery. He has served as an expert advisor and consultant to WHO programs in African and Pacific Regions, and he has served as the Director of a World Health Organization Collaborating Center in Vectorborne Diseases. Professor Durrheim is a strong advocate for equitable global access to effective public health measures, particularly immunization.

Dr. David Durrheim, Ph.D., MPH&TM, MBChB, FACTM, FAFPHM
Director Health Protection
Professor of Public Health Medicine at University of Newcastle
Locked Bag 10, Wallsend NSW, Australia, 2287
Administrative Contact:

Hank Miller